The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage

Children in our Nursery School are in the Early Years foundation stage of their education.

This is known as the E.Y.F.S.

The curriculum has seven areas of learning outlined in national guidelines.

We follow these guidelines as well as statutory welfare requirements.

The curriculum is divided into main areas under the four key principles below.

A Unique child

We believe every child is unique and different and that we provide Equal Opportunities for everyone in our school.

Positive Relationships

We build strong trusting relationships between the adults and children and help the children to do the same with their peers.

The adults in our nursery school are dedicated to supporting children’s learning and development.

Enabling environments

We use everything around us to enable children to learn.

We think carefully about how we present resources and how children access them.

We aim at all times to give Equality of Access and include all children.

Children develop and learn in different ways at different rates

We get to know children’s starting points and work out from the child.

We consider the child’s interests and motivations with care and plan experiences they will find interesting and those which will support their needs.

Areas of learning and development

There are seven areas of learning which form the basis of all curriculum planning for nursery aged children and indicate the progress which children can be expected to make.

These areas of learning finish at the end of reception class, when children are assessed against ‘Early Learning Goals’ before, if ready, they move on to the subjects of the National Curriculum.

In the age groups 2-3 professionals will focus on Prime areas of learning as these are the strongest foundations for learning.

At the 3-5 age stage, the curriculum extends to include the Specific areas of learning

Children 2-5 experience all areas of learning through carefully considered play experiences.

Prime areas of learning

Specific areas of learning


  • Reading

  • Writing


  • Numbers

  • Shapes, space and measures

Understanding the World

  • People and Communities

  • The World

  • Technology

Creative and Expressive Arts and Design

  • Experimenting with media and materials

  • Being Imaginative